Saskatchewan Ag Hall of Fame Announces Inductees for 2015


AC Emerson winter wheat Five individuals will be inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame later this year, as the 2015 slate of inductees was announced at the CropSphere conference in Saskatoon on Tuesday.

Jack Braidek, Harold Fast, Rigas Karamanos, Murray McGillivray and Wally Nelson and will be recognized for their lifetime contributions to agriculture in Saskatchewan at a ceremony in Saskatoon on August 1st.

Background on the 2015 inductees (courtesy the SAHF):

Jack Braidek — Braidek had a distinguished career serving the farmers of Saskatchewan and beyond. As an Ag Rep with the Saskatchewan Department of Agriculture, he sought new ways for farmers to improve their operations. He was the second agrologist on staff for the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool in 1963 when they decided to offer farm supplies and services. In 1978, he joined The Western Producer, serving as the newspaper’s first manager of marketing services and then as manager of agrology services. Jack Braidek passed away in August of 2011.

Harold Fast — A graduate of the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, Harold Fast moved back to his home at Spiritwood in 1982 where he and his wife Margie started their family-owned business known as Fast Genetics. Through the use of cutting edge technology, it became an internationally recognized high health swine genetics company. Their genetics are incorporated into sow herds throughout Canada, the U.S., Mexico and China. Harold Fast’s legacy is a thriving world-class swine genetics company that is a major global player as well as a progressive employer in the Spiritwood region.

Rigas Karamanos — Whether as a professor of soil science, director of the Saskatchewan Soil Testing Lab or working for companies such as Westco and Viterra, Rigas Karamanos has been a tireless researcher and promoter of soil fertility. A champion of soil testing and nutrient management, he has conducted countless research projects on crop nutrition and has communicated his knowledge through publications and hundreds of public meetings across Saskatchewan. Rigas Karamanos has also been a valuable resource for industry agronomists, who in turn could pass information to producers.

Murray McGillivray — Viewed as a “senator” of the cattle sector, both industry and government have sought advice and wise counsel from Murray McGillivray over the past few decades. A past president of the Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association, Murray saw the need for industry involvement and investment in the future of the cattle industry, particularly research. Murray McGillivray has served on numerous committees and boards including the Agri-Food Council during the time that the Saskatchewan Cattlemen’s Association was established.

Wally Nelson — Over his lifetime, Wally Nelson of Avonlea has been a farmer, farm equipment dealer, and tireless champion for Saskatchewan agriculture and agribusiness. As founding president of the Palliser Wheat Growers Association, which became the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association, he pressed for a more market responsive regulatory environment for the grain industry. Wally Nelson was also instrumental in the building of Weyburn Inland Terminal, the first farmer owned and managed terminal in the province.


Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.