Canadian Ag Hall of Fame Announces Five Inductees for 2015


The Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame has unveiled its slate of inductees for this year.

Dr. Ron DePauw, the Hon. Grant Devine, the late E. Ward Jones, Anthony von Mandl and the late Ovila Lebel will be formally inducted into the national Hall of Fame on November 22, 2015 in Regina, Saskatchewan.

“The five inductees for 2015 represent the full spectrum of our industry. They reflect the vast geography of the country and the diverse disciplines that have collectively contributed to the past, present and future of Canadian agriculture,” said hall president Herb McLane, announcing the inductees on Friday.

Here’s a short bio for each of the inductees (courtesy the Canadian Ag Hall of Fame):

Ron DePauw, inspecting a field at Swift Current, just ahead of the release of AC Muchmore and Carberry, 2009.
Ron DePauw

Cereal researcher Dr. Ron DePauw served Canadian agriculture through his 41-year career as a senior research scientist with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Saskatchewan. One of his most significant and lasting contributions is the development of AC Barrie – a wheat cultivar that continues to set the standard today. Dr. Ron DePauw lives in Swift Current, SK and was nominated by SeCan.

Former Saskatchewan premier Grant Devine
Grant Devine

A farmer first, the Hon. Grant Devine made transformative changes to Canadian agriculture in his roles as economist, professor, politician and 11th Premier of Saskatchewan. He is a dedicated champion for Saskatchewan agriculture and leaves a lasting legacy for Canadian agriculture on the national and international stage. Grant Devine lives in Caronport, SK and was nominated by Input Capital Corp.

An early leader and visionary in western Canadian agriculture, the late E. Ward Jones made tremendous contributions to the industry during his short 48-year life. He is especially remembered for his role in the development of 4-H across Canada, as co-founder of the precursor to 4-H clubs in Manitoba. E. Ward Jones was nominated by the Canadian 4-H Council.

Canadian winemaking pioneer Anthony von Mandl has dedicated his career to helping place British Columbia’s Okanagan Valley on the international wine map. Through his Mission Hill Family Estate winery he has created a world-class destination winery, raising international awareness for agritourism in British Columbia. Anthony von Mandl lives in Vancouver and Kelowna, BC and was nominated by the Hon. Wally Oppal, QC.

The late Ovila Lebel first made his mark in agriculture as an egg farmer who founded Canada’s first provincial egg marketing board in Quebec. He envisioned a united voice for egg farmers across the country, and his tireless efforts set in place the foundation for what is now the Egg Farmers of Canada. Ovila Lebel was nominated by Fédération des producteurs d’œufs Québec.

The 2015 induction ceremony will be held during Canadian Western Agribition, on Sunday, November 22 at The Hotel Saskatchewan Radisson in Regina. This will be the first time the ceremony has been held in Western Canada.

Related: Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame Calls for Nominees, Moves ’15 Ceremony to Western Canada

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.