CSTA Names Scott Horner as New President


Scott Horner of HyTech Production Ltd., based at Lethbridge, Alberta, has been named president of the Canadian Seed Trade Association following the CSTA’s annual meeting held last week at Windsor, Ont.

Scott HornerA board member since 2008, Horner also represents CSTA on the board of directors of the Seed Association of the Americas.  He has also been chairman of both the International Committee and the Hybrid Canola Seed Production Sub-Committee. An experienced leader, Horner brings more than 20 years of national and international seed sector experience to the role, says CSTA.

Horner is set to led an active board of directors. Joining him in 2015-2016 will be:  Dave Baute, Maizex Seeds, past-president, Brent Derkatch, Canterra Seeds, 1st vice-president, Dan Wright, Monsanto Canada, 2nd vice-president, Doug Alderman, Pride Seeds, Jeff Bertholet, BASF Canada Inc., Georges Chaussé, La Coop Fédérée, Darrell Dziver, BrettYoung Seeds, Wayne Gale, Stokes Seeds Limited, Todd Hyra, SeCan, Duane Johnson, Syngenta Canada, George Lammertsen, Bayer CropScience, Kevin McCallum, DL Seeds, Ellen Sparry, C & M Seeds, Marty Vermey, Dow Seeds, and Matt Hynes, American Seed Trade Association representative.

Also at the annual meeting, CSTA paid tribute to past-president Peter Entz whose term on the board of directors has ended. Peter was first elected in July 2006 and guided the association as president in 2013-2014. Peter was instrumental in developing CSTA’s position on variety registration.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.