New MB Government Returns to Old Name

New sign on the way?

Bring back the old letterhead and golf shirts.

Manitoba’s new government has changed the name of its agriculture department back to what it was prior to 1999.

An Order-in-Council passed on Tuesday, the day Brian Pallister’s government and cabinet were sworn in, changed the “Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development” to simply “Department of Agriculture”.

“All duties of the former department transfer forward with the exception of rural development, which is now in the department of Indigenous and Municipal Relations with Minister (Eileen) Clarke,” noted a spokesperson for Ralph Eichler, whose title “Minister of Agriculture” also reflects the name shortening.

The NDP changed the name to Manitoba Agriculture and Food after being elected in 1999. In 2003, it became Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives (MAFRI), and was again modified in 2013 to be Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Development (MAFRD).

In addition to Eichler’s appointment as ag minister, the new government has said Dori Gingera-Beauchemin will remain deputy minister of agriculture.

Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship also had its name changed, to the Department of Sustainable Development.



Kelvin Heppner

Kelvin Heppner is a field editor and radio host for RealAgriculture and RealAg Radio. He's been reporting on agriculture on the prairies and across Canada since 2008(ish). He farms with his family near Altona, Manitoba, and is on Twitter at @realag_kelvin. @realag_kelvin


Wheat prices jump into August — This week in the grain markets

This week, winter wheat prices touched a three-year high, but it didn’t last. Chicago SRW wheat prices for September 2018 gained 5 per cent or about 26 cents US/bushel to close at $5.56. While the December 2018 contract was up 5.4 percent — or nearly 30 cents — to finish a tad under $5.80. In…Read more »


Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.