10 farmers running in SaskWheat director election

Photo: Debra Murphy, 2017

The Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission will be holding an election this fall, as 10 farmers are running for four positions on the SaskWheat board of directors.

Here are the nominees:

  • Daryl Fransoo (Meota)
  • William (Bill) Gehl (Regina)
  • Brett Halstead (Nokomis)
  • Jake Leguee (Weyburn)
  • Rodney Luhning (Lumsden)
  • Patricia Lung (Humboldt)
  • Ken Rosaasen (Saskatoon)
  • Trevor Scherman (Battleford)
  • Scott Sefton (Broadview)
  • Glen Tait (Meota)

SaskWheat says the election will take place between October 24 and November 24, with ballots sent to all registered wheat producers in October. There will be an option to vote electronically or by mail-in ballot.

The results will be announced in early December, with the four winning candidates joining the board at the SaskWheat AGM on January 9, 2018.

Meanwhile, the Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission’s board will be unchanged, as three incumbents were acclaimed for the three available board positions. Jason Skotheim of Saskatoon, Brent Johnson of Strasbourg, and Allen Kuhlmann of Vanguard have served on SaskBarley’s board since 2014.

“Barley growers in Saskatchewan have sent us a message that our Board is on the right trackand that no major changes are required,” said Skotheim, who also serves as Board Chair. “We will take this feedback and continue our work to ensure that barley has a strong future as a Saskatchewan crop.”


Kelvin Heppner

Kelvin Heppner is a field editor and radio host for RealAgriculture and RealAg Radio. He's been reporting on agriculture on the prairies and across Canada since 2008(ish). He farms with his family near Altona, Manitoba, and is on Twitter at @realag_kelvin. @realag_kelvin


What to do if you see a suspicious drone over your property

It can be a little disconcerting to see any unrecognized vehicle on your property, especially with regular reports of thefts from rural properties. People are looking beyond their roads and approaches, to the skies, where unknown, low-flying unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), or drones, can also cause apprehension. So what do we do if we see…Read more »


Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.