Candidates for next Saskatchewan premier to discuss ag issues


The five candidates running to replace Brad Wall as leader of the Saskatchewan Party and premier of Saskatchewan will be discussing agriculture in Regina on Wednesday.

Alanna Koch, Gord Wyant, Ken Cheveldayoff, Scott Moe, and Tina Beaudry-Mellor have agreed to participate in the Saskatchewan Agriculture Discussion Forum, which will be moderated by RealAgriculture’s Shaun Haney.

The non-partisan event, to be held at the Travelodge Hotel & Conference Centre in Regina at 2pm on Wednesday (free admission), has been organized to give producers an opportunity to hear how the candidates plan to support agriculture if chosen to be the next premier of the province.

The forum will be hosted by eight partner associations — Saskatchewan Farm Stewardship Association, Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM), Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan (APAS), Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association, Saskatchewan Cattlemen’s Association, Saskatchewan Conservation & Development Association, Saskatchewan Oat Development Commission and Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission.

The Sask Party’s next leader will be elected at the party’s leadership convention in Saskatoon on January 27th.

A leadership race is also underway for the opposition Saskatchewan New Democrat Party. The NDP vote is slated for March 3rd.

Related: Brad Wall announces retirement

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.