SaskWheat members pass resolution to join Cereals Canada, again


Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission members passed a resolution at the group’s annual general meeting at CropSphere in Saskatoon on Tuesday directing their board of directors to join Cereals Canada.

While other provincial wheat grower organizations are members in Cereals Canada, Canada’s largest wheat-producing province is notably absent from the national cereal crop value chain association.

The motion, introduced by Scott Sefton of Broadview, Saskatchewan, resolves “that Sask. Wheat joins Cereals Canada so that Saskatchewan producers take their place on representing Saskatchewan-produced wheat and durum on national and international trade missions.”

The vote was close enough to require a count.

It’s the second time in the last three years that SaskWheat members have passed a non-binding resolution to join Cereals Canada. The board decided against it after a similar motion was passed at the 2016 AGM.

The Cereals Canada issue was raised during SaskWheat’s recent director election, which saw two directors re-elected and two new directors join the board (as of the AGM on Tuesday). A reorganization meeting, where the board will elect its chairperson, will be held on Thursday.

The board has up to a year to act on the resolution, although there may be an indication on whether it intends to follow through on the directive from membership anytime after the reorganization meeting on Thursday.

SaskWheat’s board of directors for 2018:

  • Dan Danielson
  • Scott Hepworth
  • Laura Reiter
  • Bill Gehl (re-elected, has served as chair since 2014)
  • Ken Rosaasen (re-elected)
  • Brett Halstead (newly-elected)
  • Jake Leguee (newly-elected)

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.