Devin Dreeshen named as Alberta's Minister of Agriculture and Forestry


Devin Dreeshen, United Conservative Party Member of the Legislative Assembly has been named as Alberta’s new Agriculture and Forestry Minister.

The appointment was announced Tuesday morning during premier-elect Jason Kenney’s swearing-in as Alberta’s 18th Premier, where Kenney named his cabinet.

Dreeshen, a farmer from near Pine Lake, Alta., won the nomination for Innisfail-Sylvan Lake in 2018 and won the ensuing by-election.

Dreeshen worked as a policy advisor to former federal Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz from 2008-2015. He is set to replace New Democrat Party member Oneil Carlier.

Travis Toews, MLA for Grande Prairie-Wapiti was named minister of the Treasury Board and Finance. Toews is a former accountant and co-owns a cattle ranch.

To view the full list of cabinet members sworn in, click here.


Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.