AAFC announces first-ever Youth Council members


Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada has named 25 young Canadians to its Canadian Agricultural Youth Council (CAYC).

As a consultative body, the CAYC is a group of young Canadians that will provide advice, enable on-going dialogue on food-related challenges and opportunities, share information and best practices, and advise the government on the strengths and weaknesses of policies and programs affecting the agriculture and agri-food sectors, says AAFC.

The 25 members, 14 females and 11 males, were selected from over 800 applications, and represent a diverse mix of individuals from sub-sectors across the agriculture and agri-food sector, as well as from every province and the North.

The members are:

  • Gordon Bell, Ont.
  • Jerry Bos, N.B.
  • Vicki Brisson, Ont.
  • B Pratyusha Chennupati, Alta.
  • Andrea De Roo, Sask.
  • Chantele Gouliquer, Man.
  • Marcus Grymonpré, B.C.
  • Paul Hrycyk, Ont.
  • Sameeha Jhetam, Sask.
  • Brent Kobes, Sask.
  • Samuel Lanctôt, Que.
  • Jessica Leung, B.C.
  • Carling Matejka, Alta.
  • Ila Matheson, PEI
  • Césarée Morier-Gxoyiya, Que.
  • Sarah Ouellette, Yukon
  • Steven Paolitto, Que.
  • Guillaume Pasquier, Ont.
  • Lauren Peters, N.S.
  • Kayoki Post-Whiteduck, Que.
  • Colby Robertson, Alta.
  • Rose Seguin, Que.
  • Easton Sellers, Man.
  • Sara Kate Smith, B.C.
  • Kalysha Snow, Nfld. & Labrador

The Council will meet multiple times annually, with a virtual, inaugural meeting planned for August 2020.

You can read a brief bio on each of the 25 members here.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.