Cattlemen's Young Leaders for 2020 announced


The national youth initiative of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA), has announced its 16 finalists for the Cattlemen’s Young Leaders (CYL) 2020-2021 program.

Finalists were announced after a virtual, judged, roundtable discussion that took place during the Canadian Beef Industry Conference, with 24 semi-finalists in the competition. Smaller roundtable judging sessions were judged by representatives of CYL sponsors Cargill, McDonald’s Canada, MNP, Farm Credit Canada, and New Holland.

The finalists will be awarded a $2000 travel budget and will be matched with a hand-picked mentor, with expertise in their specific area of interest, for nine months.

The finalists are:

  • Andrea van Iterson, Westwold, B.C.
  • Laura Code, Vernon, B.C.
  • Aydon Almberg, Czar, Alta.
  • Iva Harberg, Hay Lakes, Alta.
  • Claye Harsany, High River, Alta.
  • Dave Slingerland, Coaldale, Alta.
  • Mackenzie Argent, Cremona, Alta.
  • Katie-Jo Stehr, Lethbridge, Alta.
  • Kaylee Chizawsky, Edmonton, Alta.
  • Scott Gerbrandt, Swift Current, Sask.
  • Matt Hildebrandt, Rosthern, Sask.
  • Sarah Jensen, Arborg, Man.
  • Laura Plett, Stead, Man.
  • Charlene Yungblut, Thorold, Ont.
  • Grace Kuhl, Keady, Ont.
  • Greg Stavert, Freetown, P.E.I.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.