Manitoba Crop Alliance announces first crop of farmer nominees

The newly-formed Manitoba Crop Alliance (MCA) has announced the results of its inaugural nomination process, as the group called for farmers to sit on its new crop committees.

The MCA was formed on August 1, 2020 following the merger of five provincial commodity organizations that collect check-offs on wheat (spring and winter), barley, sunflowers, corn, and flax.

Four committees will be formally established as of January to represent the interests of each crop within the larger umbrella organization. Each committee will then choose a director that will sit on the MCA board, which will be announced prior to the group’s first annual general meeting to be held virtually on February 11, 2021.

There will be an election for the MCA’s corn committee, as five farmers have let their names stand for four positions. The flax, sunflower, and wheat and barley committees have been filled by acclamation.

Here’s a summary of the producers who have let their names stand for the new organization:

Corn committee: Carl Bangert (Beausejour), David Boerchers (Laurier), Dean Toews (MacGregor), Emile Morin (Otterburne), and Hubert Preun (St. Andrews) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions. Ballots will be mailed to eligible corn producers in mid-November, with mail-in voting closing on December 15, 2020.

Flax committee: Dean Buchanan (Crystal City), Jack Hodgson (Roland), Lance Bierens (Winnipeg), and Lorne Johnson (Arborg) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions and are thereby elected by acclamation. They will join Andrew Harris (Winnipeg), Eric Fridfinnson (Arborg), Garry Froese (Winkler), and Nick Matheson (Stonewall) to form MCA’s Flax committee.

Sunflower committee: Edgar Scheurer (Dugald), Korey Peters (Randolph), Myles Kubinec (Holland), and Sally Parsonage (Baldur) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions and are thereby elected by acclamation. They will join Gilbert Sabourin (St. Jean Baptiste), Gregg Fotheringham (Reston), Mark McDonald (Virden), and Roger Vaags (Dugald) to form MCA’s Sunflower committee

Wheat and Barley committee: Boris Michaleski (Ashville), Fred Greig (Reston), Josee Saquet (Laurier), Rauri Qually (Dacatoh), and Sheila Elder (Wawanesa) were nominated for the five available crop committee delegate positions and are thereby elected by acclamation. They will join Doug Martin (East Selkirk), Drew Baker (Beausejour), Robert Misko (Roblin), Ryan Hueging (Woodlands), and Wilfred Harder (Lowe Farm) to form MCA’s Wheat and Barley committee.

The existing delegates were previously directors for their respective commodity organization. Outgoing delegates include Allan Olinyk, Cam Laxdal, Charlene Lewandoski, Chris Raffard, Dennis Thiessen, Devin Toews, Hugh Drake, Luc Remillard, Patrick Friesen, and Reginald Johnson.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Privacy Preference Center


Necessary cookies help make a website usable by enabling basic functions like page navigation and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

gdpr, __cfduid, PHPSESSID, wordpress_test_cookie, woocommerce_items_in_cart, woocommerce_cart_hash, wp_woocommerce_session, wordpress_logged_in, wordpress_sec, wp-settings, wp-settings-time, __cf_mob_redir, wordpress_cache, realag


Measuring interactions with the ads on the domain.



These are used to track user interaction and detect potential problems. These help us improve our services by providing analytical data on how users use this site.



Preference cookies enable the website to remember information that changes the way the website behaves or looks, like your preferred language or the region that you are in.

chartdefaults, comment_author, comment_author_email, comment_author_url
JSESSIONID, _os_session,anonymous_votes,csrf-param,csrf-token,user,user-id,user-platform,intercom-session,intercom-lou,intercom-session
personalization_id, tfw_exp


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.