Marit reappointed Saskatchewan ag minister

There will be no change atop the agriculture ministry in Saskatchewan following the provincial election two weeks ago.

Premier Scott Moe’s new cabinet was sworn in on Monday.

David Marit remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation.

Marit was first elected as MLA for the southwest Saskatchewan riding of Wood River in 2016. He was appointed Minister of Agriculture in 2018 following Lyle Stewart’s resignation due to health issues.

Across the aisle, Trent Wotherspoon, MLA for Regina Rosemont, has been named agriculture critic for the NDP.

Also of note in cabinet:

  • Donna Harpauer was appointed Deputy Premier and will retain the role of Minister of Finance.
  • Jeremy Harrison remains Minister of Trade and Export Development and Minister of Immigration and Career Training, while adding responsibility as Minister Responsible for Innovation.
  • Joe Hargrave becomes Minister of Highways and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Water Security Agency.
  • Warren Kaeding was sworn in as Minister of Environment.
  • Former Ag Minister Lyle Stewart will serve as Provincial Secretary and Legislative Secretary to the Premier responsible for Provincial Autonomy, where he will “focus on areas where Saskatchewan can exercise and strengthen our provincial autonomy within the Canadian federation,” according to a provincial news release.

Related: Saskatchewan Party locks up fourth consecutive mandate

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Privacy Preference Center


Necessary cookies help make a website usable by enabling basic functions like page navigation and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

gdpr, __cfduid, PHPSESSID, wordpress_test_cookie, woocommerce_items_in_cart, woocommerce_cart_hash, wp_woocommerce_session, wordpress_logged_in, wordpress_sec, wp-settings, wp-settings-time, __cf_mob_redir, wordpress_cache, realag


Measuring interactions with the ads on the domain.



These are used to track user interaction and detect potential problems. These help us improve our services by providing analytical data on how users use this site.



Preference cookies enable the website to remember information that changes the way the website behaves or looks, like your preferred language or the region that you are in.

chartdefaults, comment_author, comment_author_email, comment_author_url
JSESSIONID, _os_session,anonymous_votes,csrf-param,csrf-token,user,user-id,user-platform,intercom-session,intercom-lou,intercom-session
personalization_id, tfw_exp


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.