Alberta Barley announces new executive


Following Alberta Barley’s annual general meeting (AGM), the commission is announcing their new executive lineup.

Tara Sawyer, of Acme, Alta., will be serving as the new chair, and enters into her second year as director-at-large on the board of directors.

Wade McAllister, of Innisfail, Alta., is entering his third year on the board and second year as the commission’s vice-chair.

Sawyer, who replaces former chair David Bishop — a valued board member of six years — says she is excited and honoured to lead Alberta Barley forward.

“Our organization has made significant strides in the last year, including the finalization of two new barley breeding agreements that will ensure a continuous supply of new barley varieties to Alberta farmers,” Sawyer explains.

The AGM also marked the start of Sean Stanford’s first term as director, replacing Dave Bishop from region one. Additionally, Roy Newman replaces Jeff Nielsen as Alberta Barley’s region two director, and  Bernie Klammer replaces Terry James as a director-at-large.

Bishop says it was a great pleasure to be able to serve Alberta barley growers in the capacity he has, over the years.

“I have a deep-rooted passion for agriculture, and ensuring that the farmer voice is heard. I am excited for the new members to step in and provide fresh insights on leading Alberta Barley forward.”


Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.