Lampron re-elected president of Dairy Farmers of Canada


Pierre Lampron has been re-elected to a third term as president of Dairy Farmers of Canada (DFC).

An organic dairy farmer from Mauricie, Quebec, Lampron was re-elected during DFC’s annual general meeting, which was held virtually on July 13-14.

“I would like to thank dairy farmers for putting their trust in me once again,” he said, in a statement released by DFC. “It has been an honour and a privilege to serve as president of DFC’s board for the last four years, and I look forward to continuing this important work on behalf of dairy farmers in my final term.”

Lampron also thanked Dairy Farmers of Ontario representative and DFC board director Bonnie den Haan for her campaign.

“All those who commit to representing the interests of our dairy farmers at the regional, provincial or national levels deserve our gratitude,” he said.

Detailed results of the election were not made public.

The annual meeting included speakers discussing how dairy farmers are positioned to take advantage of growing demand for renewable energy, with manure and crops that can be used to create biofuels.

Dairy Farmers of Canada’s board for 2021:

President: Pierre Lampron
Vice-President/Manitoba representative: David Wiens
British Columbia: Dave Taylor
Alberta: Gert Schrijver
Saskatchewan: Blaine McLeod
Ontario: Albert Fledderus, Bonnie den Haan, and Mark Hamel
Quebec: Marcel Blais, Daniel Gobeil, and Peter Strebel
New Brunswick: Denis Cyr
Nova Scotia: Gerrit Damsteegt
Prince Edward Island: Gordon MacBeath
Newfoundland and Labrador: Lucas Strong
Lactanet: Korb Whale

Sign up for RealAg’s free Canadian Dairy Update

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.