Rosters announced for new House of Commons' committees


The lists of which MPs will sit on the House of Commons’ committees for the session of Parliament that started last month were finally unveiled on Thursday.

The 12-member Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food includes some returnees, as well as several new faces (denoted with *):

  • Francis Drouin (Liberal, newly-appointed Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture and Agri-Food)
  • Kody Blois (Liberal)
  • Tim Louis (Liberal)
  • Leah Taylor Roy (Liberal)*
  • Ryan Turnbull (Liberal)*
  • Rechie Valdez (Liberal)*
  • John Barlow (Conservative shadow minister for agriculture)
  • Dave Epp (Conservative deputy shadow minister for agriculture)
  • Richard Lehoux (Conservative)
  • Warren Steinley (Conservative)
  • Alistair MacGregor (New Democrat agriculture critic)
  • Yves Perron (Bloc Québécois agriculture critic)

The ag committee will hold its first meeting on Dec. 16 (changed from Dec. 13) to elect its chair.

There were also some MPs with ties to agriculture appointed to other relevant committees, such as health, environment, and trade. You can find the complete committee lists here.

While the committee lists are now public, the Trudeau government has also taken longer than normal to unveil its new mandate letters for cabinet ministers. It’s unclear whether they will be made public before MPs head home for the holidays on December 17.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.

Privacy Preference Center


Necessary cookies help make a website usable by enabling basic functions like page navigation and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

gdpr, __cfduid, PHPSESSID, wordpress_test_cookie, woocommerce_items_in_cart, woocommerce_cart_hash, wp_woocommerce_session, wordpress_logged_in, wordpress_sec, wp-settings, wp-settings-time, __cf_mob_redir, wordpress_cache, realag


Measuring interactions with the ads on the domain.



These are used to track user interaction and detect potential problems. These help us improve our services by providing analytical data on how users use this site.



Preference cookies enable the website to remember information that changes the way the website behaves or looks, like your preferred language or the region that you are in.

chartdefaults, comment_author, comment_author_email, comment_author_url
JSESSIONID, _os_session,anonymous_votes,csrf-param,csrf-token,user,user-id,user-platform,intercom-session,intercom-lou,intercom-session
personalization_id, tfw_exp


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.