Horner reappointed ag minister for Alberta in Danielle Smith's cabinet


Nate Horner will remain Alberta’s agriculture minister following the unveiling of new Premier Danielle Smith’s cabinet.

Horner, the UCP MLA for Drumheller-Stettler, was first appointed minister of agriculture and forestry by former Premier Jason Kenney in November 2021.

Under Smith, Horner’s title no longer includes forestry and rural economic development, but irrigation has been tacked on to the agriculture portfolio.

“I look forward to building on our government’s historic investment of nearly $1 billion in irrigation infrastructure and supporting an ag sector that’s driving economic growth and job creation,” tweeted Horner.

Another one of Horner’s top priorities will likely be the completion and implementation of the agreement underlying the new five-year federal-provincial-territorial (FPT) ag policy framework that is supposed to take effect in April 2023, with the current agreement set to expire in March. He has been involved in negotiating the new FPT deal, including at the FPT ag ministers’ annual meeting in Saskatchewan this past July.

Glenn van Dijken will work with Horner as the parliamentary secretary for agri-food development.

Smith has also appointed her main leadership contest rivals to high-profile posts. Former Canadian Cattle Association president and rancher Travis Toews (who Horner endorsed in the leadership race) will remain president of the Treasury Board and finance minister. Brian Jean has been appointed minister of jobs, economy and northern development.

Smith’s cabinet will be sworn in on Monday, Oct. 24, and will then begin receiving briefings from their departments.

Here’s the complete list of cabinet appointments under the new Alberta premier:

  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Skilled Trades and Professions – Kaycee Madu
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Infrastructure – Nathan Neudorf
  • President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance – Travis Toews
  • Minister of Jobs, Economy and Northern Development – Brian Jean
  • Minister of Justice – Tyler Shandro
  • Minister of Health – Jason Copping
  • Minister of Energy – Pete Guthrie
  • Minister of Environment and Protected Areas – Sonya Savage
  • Minister of Technology and Innovation – Nate Glubish
  • Minister of Affordability and Utilities – Matt Jones
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs – Rebecca Schulz
  • Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors – Devin Dreeshen
  • Minister of Public Safety – Mike Ellis
  • Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation – Nate Horner
  • Minister of Forestry, Parks and Tourism – Todd Loewen
  • Minister of Trade, Immigration and Multiculturalism – Rajan Sawhney
  • Minister of Education – Adriana LaGrange
  • Minister of Advanced Education – Demetrios Nicolaides
  • Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction – Dale Nally
  • Minister of Indigenous Relations – Rick Wilson
  • Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services – Jeremy Nixon
  • Minister of Children’s Services – Mickey Amery
  • Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Nicholas Milliken
  • Minister of Culture – Jason Luan

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.