Roy named new chair of Canadian Pork Council


The Canadian Pork Council’s board of directors have chosen their new chair and vice-chair.

Rene Roy, a pork producer from Quebec, has replaced Rick Bergmann of Manitoba, the longest-serving chair in CPC history, having led the board for the past eight years.

Scott Peters of Manitoba was elected to replace Roy as first vice-chair.

“I would like to thank my friend Rick for representing our 7,000 Canadian pork producers for the past eight years as chair,” said Roy. “Being chair of this organization is important and rewarding work, and Rick has tirelessly taken time away from his farm, business, and family to advance national files on behalf of all producers.”

“By all measures, Rick has navigated our industry through several challenging issues since joining the board in 2008, such as the global pandemic, WTO challenges, CPTPP and NAFTA trade negotiations, so many other issues. He should be congratulated for his successes,” Roy says.

The Pork Council’s board met in Banff ahead of the Banff Pork Forum, where they discussed ongoing plans related to the potential response and recovery plan for an African swine fever disaster in Canada, as well as the CPC’s intent to draft and implement a new strategic plan in 2023.

Brent Moen, from Alberta, and Jack Dewit, from British Columbia, will continue to serve as the council’s second vice-chair and treasurer, respectively.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.