Danielle Smith names new ag minister for Alberta


Alberta Premier Danielle Smith has named her new cabinet, and it includes a new agriculture minister.

RJ Sigurdson, the MLA for Highwood, has been appointed Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation, replacing Nate Horner, who was named Minister of Finance and President of the Treasury Board.

Horner had served as the province’s ag minister since late 2021.

According to the United Conservative Party’s website, Sigurdson was raised on a farm near Cochrane, is a red seal journeyman in a mechanical trade, and has been a shareholder of a mechanical construction company in Rockyview County.

He was first elected to the provincial legislature in 2019 in the Highwood riding, which lies just south of Calgary and includes the communities of Okotoks, Black Diamond, and Turner Valley.

Horner’s predecessor, Devin Dreeshen, was reappointed Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors.

Alberta’s cabinet, as announced June 9, 2023:

Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Relations – Danielle Smith

Deputy Premier and Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Services – Mike Ellis

Minister of Advanced Education – Rajan Sawhney

Minister of Affordability and Utilities and Vice-chair of Treasury Board – Nathan Neudorf

Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation – RJ Sigurdson

Minister of Arts, Culture and Status of Women – Tanya Fir

Minister of Children and Family Services – Searle Turton

Minister of Education – Demetrios Nicolaides

Minister of Energy and Minerals – Brian Jean

Minister of Environment and Protected Areas – Rebecca Schulz

Ministry of Forestry and Parks – Todd Loewen

Minister of Health – Adriana LaGrange

Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism – Muhammad Yaseen

Minister of Indigenous Relations – Rick Wilson

Minister of Infrastructure – Pete Guthrie

Minister of Jobs, Economy and Trade – Matt Jones

Minister of Justice – Mickey Amery

Minister of Mental Health and Addiction – Dan Williams

Minister of Municipal Affairs – Ric McIver

Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services – Jason Nixon

Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction – Dale Nally

Minister of Technology and Innovation – Nate Glubish

Minister of Tourism and Sport – Joseph Schow

Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors – Devin Dreeshen

President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance – Nate Horner

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.