Wiens named president of Dairy Farmers of Canada


Manitoba dairy farmer David Wiens has been elected to serve as the president of Dairy Farmers of Canada (DFC).

Wiens, who has served as vice-president of DFC since 2011, succeeds Pierre Lampron in leading the national dairy producer organization.

He farms together with his brother Charles at Grunthal, Man., milking 230 cows and farming 1,600 acres of cropland.

“I would like to thank dairy farmers for electing me to lead our national organization,” says Wiens, in a DFC news release. “Our industry is at a crossroads, we face numerous challenges, but there are also opportunities which we must seize.”

Lampron served three consecutive terms as DFC president, dating back to 2017. He was named second vice-president of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture earlier this year.

DFC held its annual general meeting July 11-12 in Winnipeg.

Dairy Farmers of Canada’s 2023 Board of Directors:

President: David Wiens

British Columbia: Sarah Sache

Alberta : Wim Van De Brake

Saskatchewan: Matthew Flaman

Manitoba: Stefan Singer

Ontario: Vicky Morrison, Mark Hamel, Don Gordon

Quebec: Daniel Gobeil, Peter Strebel, Marcel Blais

New Brunswick: Gilbert Matheson

Nova Scotia: Greg Archibald

Prince Edward Island: Steve Reeves

Newfoundland and Labrador: TBA

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.