Canada's Outstanding Young Farmers Program Memorial Scholarship winners named for 2023


Hannah Stamp of Vauxhall, Alta., and Sarah MacDonald of Vanderhoof, B.C., have been selected as the Outstanding Young Farmers Memorial Scholarship winners for 2023.

Each winner receives a $1,000 scholarship to support their post-secondary agricultural education.

The award includes two annual scholarships — one to an individual who has completed at least one year of post-secondary study in agriculture, and the other to someone who has completed high school and is enrolling in a post-secondary education in agriculture.

As part of the application process, applicants are asked to write an essay about why they are passionate about agriculture in Canada.

Hannah Stamp’s passion for agriculture comes from growing up on a family farm, and the opportunities it has provided her. She feels agriculture is more than just feeding the world — it is a community that deeply cares for each other and all of humanity. While pursuing her diploma in agriculture at Lethbridge College, Hannah will embrace the technology and share knowledge with others.

Sarah MacDonald plans to use her love of agriculture and politics in her future career. She will complete her Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness at the University of Saskatchewan before pursuing a Master’s in Public Policy. She feels it is crucial to have policy makers and people in government that are passionate and understand agriculture from a working perspective. With a family history of 250 years in farming, her passion has “roots deeper than an old alfalfa stand” and will benefit from her future agriculture policies.

Nominations are open for the 2024 scholarship, with a deadline for nominations of June 30, 2024.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.

Privacy Preference Center


Necessary cookies help make a website usable by enabling basic functions like page navigation and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

gdpr, __cfduid, PHPSESSID, wordpress_test_cookie, woocommerce_items_in_cart, woocommerce_cart_hash, wp_woocommerce_session, wordpress_logged_in, wordpress_sec, wp-settings, wp-settings-time, __cf_mob_redir, wordpress_cache, realag


Measuring interactions with the ads on the domain.



These are used to track user interaction and detect potential problems. These help us improve our services by providing analytical data on how users use this site.



Preference cookies enable the website to remember information that changes the way the website behaves or looks, like your preferred language or the region that you are in.

chartdefaults, comment_author, comment_author_email, comment_author_url
JSESSIONID, _os_session,anonymous_votes,csrf-param,csrf-token,user,user-id,user-platform,intercom-session,intercom-lou,intercom-session
personalization_id, tfw_exp


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.