Grain Farmers of Ontario elects new chair and board executive


Grain Farmers of Ontario, which represents Ontario’s 28,000 barley, corn, oat, soybean, and wheat farmers, has elected Jeff Harrison as its new chair.

Jeff Harrison is the director for District 12 (Durham, Northumberland, Kawartha, Peterborough, Hastings) and has served on the board since 2016. He farms with his family in Quinte West.

“I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to serve as the incoming chair of the board of directors for Grain Farmers of Ontario,” Harrison says in a release. “I am dedicated to advancing our organization’s long legacy of steadfast advocacy in agriculture. My priority is to champion the diverse interests of our farmer-members, ensuring they have the support needed to thrive as successful family enterprises in Ontario. Together, we will continue to cultivate high-quality, locally sourced grains that are both nourishing and accessible, contributing to the well-being of our communities across Ontario, Canada, and beyond.”

The executive committee also includes:

Josh Boersen, District 9 (Perth), vice chair
Julie Maw, District 2 (Lambton), vice chair
Steve Twynstra, District 4 (Middlesex)

Grain Farmers of Ontario would also like to thank outgoing chair Brendan Byrne, who completed his maximum three-year term, and acknowledge his commitment and dedication to the organization and its farmer-members.

“Over the past three years, Brendan has led our board of directors through some incredibly difficult and volatile issues. Brendan’s constant commitment and his passion for championing on behalf of our farmer-members was inspiring. We wish Brendan well, and are grateful for his time as chair and continued dedication to Grain Farmers of Ontario,” says Crosby Devitt, CEO, Grain Farmers of Ontario.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Please register to read and comment.


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.