Alberta Grains, the new organization formed through the amalgamation of the Alberta Wheat and Barley Commissions, held its first annual general meeting this week at Calgary. The organization named its inaugural board, with Tara Sawyer as chair. Scott Jespersen will serve as first vice-chair, and Devin Hartzler as second vice-chair. Sawyer, who farms near Acme, … Read More

After six years of moving toward becoming one entity, Alberta Barley and the Alberta Wheat Commission will become Alberta Grains as of August 1, 2023. “Alberta Grains will build on the strengths of both organizations to create a unified voice for the province’s 18,000 wheat and barley farmers. With a focus on economic sustainability, innovation… Read More

There’s been a major change in the senior leadership team for the Alberta Wheat Commission and the Alberta Barley Commission. The commissions, which are in the process of merging, are not publicly naming which individuals are involved, but RealAgriculture has confirmed that long-time general manager Tom Steve and chief operating officer Syeda Khurram are among… Read More

On November 2, 2022, Alberta farmers who submit a levy to the Alberta Wheat Commission and the Alberta Barley Commission voted in favour of amalgamating the commissions. Tara Sawyer, chair of Alberta Barley, was at the commissions’ annual event, Prairie Cereals Summit, held at Banff, Alta., where she discussed the path going forward which, as… Read More

The Alberta Wheat and Barley Commissions are launching a consultation on amalgamating to form a single commission. The Commissions will be soliciting farmers’ opinions beginning in July with an online survey, followed by virtual town hall events after harvest in October, and further dialogue and sessions during regional meetings in November. The commissions have been… Read More

Following Alberta Barley’s annual general meeting (AGM), the commission is announcing their new executive lineup. Tara Sawyer, of Acme, Alta., will be serving as the new chair, and enters into her second year as director-at-large on the board of directors. Wade McAllister, of Innisfail, Alta., is entering his third year on the board and second… Read More


Register for a RealAgriculture account to manage your Shortcut menu instead of the default.